Boys Swimmers and Divers Receive All-NEPSAC Honors

Nine Deerfield boys swimming and diving team members received All-NEPSAC honors for their achievements at the 2019 Division I NEPSAC Swimming & Diving Championships hosted by Deerfield Academy.

Mason Zhao ’20 earned All-NEPSAC honors in the 200 Freestyle and 100 Freestyle events. At the New England championship meet, Mason earned 12th place in the 200 freestyle and 9th in the 100 freestyle event.

Senior co-captain, Shaun Kronenwetter, earned double All-NEPSAC honors in both the 50 freestyle and 100 freestyle. In the final meet of the season, Shaun won the 50 freestyle event and earned All-American Consideration with his time of 20.95 and he also finished fifth in the 100 freestyle event.

Justin Tang ’20 received All-NEPSAC honors in the 100 Butterfly and the 500 Freestyle. He finished 11th in the butterfly event and later raced to a 13th place finish in the 500 freestyle event.

Deerfield newcomer, Vojta Kupka ’20 finished fifth in the 200 freestyle and third in the 500 yard freestyle event to receive All-NEPSAC honors in both events during his rookie season with the Big Green.

Ron Finkelberg ’21 was awarded All-NEPSAC honors in the 500 Freestyle and 100 Breaststroke this season. He finished ninth in the 500 freestyle and was tenth in the 100 breaststroke.

Also earning double All-NEPSAC honors was senior co-captain Simon Lam, who received honors in both the 100 Butterfly and 100 Backstroke events. At the New England Championship, Simon captured the bronze medal in the 100 butterfly and was seventh in the 100 backstroke.

JJ Siritantikorn ’19 received All-NEPSAC honors in the 100 Breaststroke, he was 12th in the event at the New England Championships.

Diving teammates Teddy McCarthy ’20 and Tyler Kelly ’19 both received All-NEPSAC honors for their results at the New England Diving Championships. Teddy claimed the silver medal in the event and Tyler was sixth overall.

  1. Ron Finkelberg ’21 – 500 Freestyle, 100 Breaststroke
  2. Tyler Kelly ’19 – 1 Meter Diving
  3. Shaun Kronenwetter ’19 – 50 Freestyle, 100 Freestyle
  4. Vojta Kupka ’20 – 200 Freestyle, 500 Freestyle
  5. Simon Lam ’19 – 100 Butterfly, 100 Backstroke
  6. Teddy McCarthy ’20 – 1 Meter Diving
  7. JJ Siritantikorn ’19 – 100 Breaststroke
  8. Justin Tang ’20 – 100 Butterfly, 500 Freestyle
  9. Mason Zhao ’20 – 200 Freestyle, 100 Freestyle

This season the boys varsity swimming and diving team posted an 8-2 record and captured fourth place at the NEPSAC Division I Swimming and Diving Championship.

Congratulations to the team on a great season!

Click here to view this year’s list of All-NEPSAC honorees.

Go Big Green!