Event Details

8th Annual Phillips Academy Girls Wrestling Tournament
January 30, 2022

The day after a nor’easter, 53 wrestlers from 20 different schools traveled to Phillips Academy for our annual girls tournament. The tournament started with a clinic from 6x All American, 2x National Champion, and UNC wrestler Marisol Nugent ’20. We then had an 8-person bracket tournament, with 6 full brackets, and 2 round robin brackets. Deerfield placed 3rd in the overall team score with 38 points; Middlesex placed 2nd with 78 points; and Phillips Academy came in 1st place with 99 team points. This is the first time Phillips Academy has won the team title since we established it in 2019. We wrestled through 8th place, but only the top 4 placers received a medal and scored points for their team. Love Daley is a 3x champion at this tournament, and was named Outstanding Wrestler for the second time.


4th place: Claire Yoon, Middlesex

3rd place: Marlo Johnson, Governor’s Academy

2nd place: Nannette Chatman, Nobles & Greenough

1st place: Caitlyn McGhee, Methuen High School

Match results:

McGhee pinned Xiong; McGhee pinned Johnson 3:11; McGhee pinned Chatman 1:35

Chatman dec. Galia 3-1; Chatman dec. Yoon 5-4;

Johnson dec. Hoang 6-1; Johnson defeated Galia; Johnson pinned Yoon 4:59

Yoon pinned Jacobson; Yoon dec. Hoang 11-6

5th place: Gracia Galia (Marvelwood) defeated Thu Hoang (Marianapolis)

7th place: Sonia Xiong (Phillips Academy) dec. Presley Jacobson (BB&N) 12-3



4th place: Sachi Mehra, Choate Rosemary Hall

3rd place: Mary Adams, Portsmouth Abbey

2nd place: Sakina Cotton, Phillips Academy

1st place: Abigail Alicandro, Marianapolis Prep

Match Results:

Alicandro pinned Gasso 0:23; Alicandro pinned Delegas 0:37; Alicando pinned Cotton 1:17

Cotton dec. Adams 6-3; Cotton pinned Mott 3:40;

Adams pinned Tzou 2:49; Adams pinned Delegas 1:41; Adams dec. Mehra 7-2

Mehra pinned Gasso 4:58; Mehra pinned Mott 0:32;

5th place: Olivia Delegas (Great Lawrence Technical School) defeated Gabrielle Mott (Milton)

7th place:  Daniella Gasso (Portsmouth Abbey) pinned Brania Tzou (NMH) 0:22



4th place: Lindsay Hurr, Middlesex

3rd place: Josephine Louis, Deerfield

2nd place: Maya Douge, Middlesex

1st place: Eva Murphy, Phillips Academy

Match results:

Murphy dec. Louis 5-1; Murphy pinned Hurr 0:46; Murphy dec. Douge in OT 12-10

Douge pinned Thakur; Douge pinned Yu 0:48;

Louis pinned Nirmal 2:38; Louis pinned Yu 0:43; Louis pinned Hurr 2:20

Hurr dec. Nirmal 13-5; Hurr pinned Wang 0:55

5th place: Amy Wang (Marianapolis) pinned Rose Yu (Portsmouth Abbey) 4:48

7th place: Gabriela Nirmal (Choate) pinned Mojavi Thakur (NMH)  1:57



4th place: Claire Stone, Governor’s Academy

3rd place: Wendi Zheng, Phillips Academy

2nd place: Juliette Alford, Middlesex

1st place: Latoya Kibusi, Reading High School

Match results:

Kibusi pinned Stone; Kibusi pinned Zheng 4:44; Kibusi pinned Alford 1:06

Alford pinned Carmona 4:17; Alford pinned Kennedy 0:59

Zheng pinned Knot 0:33; Zheng pinned Carmona 0:51; Zheng pinned Stone 0:53

Stone pinned Kennedy; Stone pinned Knot

5th place: Julia Carmona (Phillips Academy pinned Laila Kennedy (Marvelwood) 4:45

7th place: Kimberly Guzman-Flores (Middlesex) won by injury default over Tanvi Knot (Middlesex)



4th place: Charlotte Lokere, Lawrence Academy

3rd place: Sophia Burke, Deerfield

2nd place: Lily Fitzpatrick, St. Paul’s School

1st place: Dani Nugent, Phillips Academy

Match results:

Nugent pinned Evans; Nugent pinned Burke 0:29; Nugent pinned Fitzpatrick

Fitzpatrick pinned Chai 0:40; Fitzpatrick pinned Lokere 0:36

Burke pinned Lee 3:18; Burke pinned Chai 0:20; Burke pinned Lokere 0:38

Lokere pinned Colgate 4:15; Lokere pinned Lee 0:55

5th place: Jina Lee (NMH) pinned Iris Chai (NMH)

7th place: Isabelle Evans (Greater Lawrence Technical School) won by injury default over Avery Colgate (Governor’s)



4th place: Xavia Banigan, Governor’s Academy

3rd place: Merrit Coward, Portsmouth Abbey

2nd place: Ayla Goldman, Middleboro

1st place: Love Daley, Middlesex

Match results:

Daley pinned Banigan 0:22; Daley pinned Coward 0:20; Daley pinned Goldman 0:46

Golman pinned Barlow 0:33; Goldman pinned Yang 0:46

Coward pinned Barlow 1:22; Coward dec. Banigan 7-4

Banigan pinned Yang 2:30

5th place: Marvin Yang (NMH) pinned Amelia Barlow (Governor’s) 0:33

7th place: Isa Matloff over (BYE)



3rd place: Adeeva Ali, Deerfield

2nd place: Lindsay Laws, Silver Lake

1st place: Tayla Tildsley, Shawsheen Tech

Match results:

Round 1: Tildsley dec. Laws 4-3

Round 2: Laws pinned Ali 1:29

Round 3: Tildsley pinned Ali 0:59



2nd place: Dylan Hoyes-Gbewonyo, Marvelwood

1st place: Nor DeHoog, Phillips Academy

Match results:

Round 1: DeHoog pinned Hoyes-Gbewonyo 0:51

Round 2: DeHoog pinned Hoyes-Gbewonyo 0:32